Merged Mining Test Failed with pushpool

Post Reply
Davincij15
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:27 pm
os: windows

Merged Mining Test Failed with pushpool

Post by Davincij15 »

Can anyone confirm if I can use merged-mine-proxy with pushpool? My tests show that pushpool rewrites the share and then is unable to find any blocks. Disabling rewrite works however nothing is stored to the database. The same happens with poolserverj.

Can anyone confirm this?

Davincij15
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:27 pm
os: windows

Re: Merged Mining Test Failed with pushpool

Post by Davincij15 »

It would seem this is false...
http://dot-bit.org/Merged_Mining
Can I use pushpoold?
Yes. nodemaster already did a quick test and it seems to work. Just point you pushpoold to a properly configured merged-mine-proxy instead of namecoind.

if you change this...

Code: Select all

        
        # rewrite returned 'target' to difficulty-1?
        "rpc.target.rewrite" : false,
for the pushpool settings you find blocks but the shares do not go to the DB and you cant just tell pushpool to log the shares as it's not keeping track of duplicates, stales and the rest of the reasons it may get rejected.

XertroV
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:44 am
os: linux

Re: Merged Mining Test Failed with pushpool

Post by XertroV »

I currently have poolserverj confirmed working with merged-mining-proxy from the .63 namecoin source. (both namecoind and bitcoind built from it)

I've got about 6 bitcoin blocks and 3 namecoin on the testnet.
On a side note: I've noticed though that while the bitcoin difficulty was above the nmc difficulty, a hash that resulted in a btc block didn't also result in a nmc block; not sure if that's design or a result of the system. (Intuitively it seems that it should solve for both)

Anyway, my current system is poolserverj (native db schema) -> merged-mining-proxy -> bitcoind and namecoind on the testnet.

Edit: I believe re-writing the share is just sending out a difficulty 1 target, not actually changing any of the work data.

Davincij15
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:27 pm
os: windows

Re: Merged Mining Test Failed with pushpool

Post by Davincij15 »

XertroV wrote:I currently have poolserverj confirmed working with merged-mining-proxy from the .63 namecoin source. (both namecoind and bitcoind built from it)
Yeah I know I'm the guy paying him.
XertroV wrote: I've got about 6 bitcoin blocks and 3 namecoin on the testnet.
On a side note: I've noticed though that while the bitcoin difficulty was above the nmc difficulty, a hash that resulted in a btc block didn't also result in a nmc block; not sure if that's design or a result of the system. (Intuitively it seems that it should solve for both)

Anyway, my current system is poolserverj (native db schema) -> merged-mining-proxy -> bitcoind and namecoind on the testnet.

Edit: I believe re-writing the share is just sending out a difficulty 1 target, not actually changing any of the work data.

Code: Select all

root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# ./namecoind getinfo
{
   // removed data
    "version" : 32460,
    "difficulty" : 6.08877430,
    "testnet" : true,
}
root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# ./bitcoind getinfo
{
   // removed data
    "difficulty" : 170.24496174,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : true,
}
root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# date
Tue Sep 20 16:44:37 CEST 2011
What the heck are you taking about are you sure you are on test net for namecoin?

Well, I do have this in my namecoin bitcoin.conf file...

addnode=78.47.40.55:18334

That's nodemasters test net so maybe that's the issue.

twobits
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:10 pm
os: bsd

Re: Merged Mining Test Failed with pushpool

Post by twobits »

Davincij15 wrote:
XertroV wrote:I currently have poolserverj confirmed working with merged-mining-proxy from the .63 namecoin source. (both namecoind and bitcoind built from it)
Yeah I know I'm the guy paying him.
XertroV wrote: I've got about 6 bitcoin blocks and 3 namecoin on the testnet.
On a side note: I've noticed though that while the bitcoin difficulty was above the nmc difficulty, a hash that resulted in a btc block didn't also result in a nmc block; not sure if that's design or a result of the system. (Intuitively it seems that it should solve for both)

Anyway, my current system is poolserverj (native db schema) -> merged-mining-proxy -> bitcoind and namecoind on the testnet.

Edit: I believe re-writing the share is just sending out a difficulty 1 target, not actually changing any of the work data.

Code: Select all

root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# ./namecoind getinfo
{
   // removed data
    "version" : 32460,
    "difficulty" : 6.08877430,
    "testnet" : true,
}
root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# ./bitcoind getinfo
{
   // removed data
    "difficulty" : 170.24496174,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : true,
}
root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# date
Tue Sep 20 16:44:37 CEST 2011
What the heck are you taking about are you sure you are on test net for namecoin?

Well, I do have this in my namecoin bitcoin.conf file...

addnode=78.47.40.55:18334

That's nodemasters test net so maybe that's the issue.
I am not sure what you are trying to show here yet? I did notice however

"version" : 32460'

testnet right now is being used to test the .63 release, so you may want to upgrade and clear out your blocks and get on the current testnet.

XertroV
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:44 am
os: linux

Re: Merged Mining Test Failed with pushpool

Post by XertroV »

Davincij15 wrote:

Code: Select all

root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# ./namecoind getinfo
{
   // removed data
    "version" : 32460,
    "difficulty" : 6.08877430,
    "testnet" : true,
}
root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# ./bitcoind getinfo
{
   // removed data
    "difficulty" : 170.24496174,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : true,
}
root@bitcoinpool:/home/bitcoinpool/coinservers# date
Tue Sep 20 16:44:37 CEST 2011
What the heck are you taking about are you sure you are on test net for namecoin?

Well, I do have this in my namecoin bitcoin.conf file...

addnode=78.47.40.55:18334

That's nodemasters test net so maybe that's the issue.
my getinfo is more like:

Code: Select all

 bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 32463,
    "difficulty" : 170.24496174,
    "testnet" : true,
}

Code: Select all

namecoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 32463,
    "blocks" : 18693,
    "difficulty" : 256.00000000,
    "testnet" : true,
}
I'm using that addnode (as an argument at startup though) (since I'm pretty sure there's no issue with needing a patch for mm block acceptance on the bitcoin client)

most recent generate on the nmc testnet is this:

Code: Select all

 {
        "account" : "",
        "category" : "generate",
        "amount" : 50.00000000,
        "confirmations" : 1500,
        "txid" : "9280d5ef0e9829cd7d3b2da243bf4d0c9ade61f58798214dfba2ff22eb6b436b",
        "time" : 1316450905
    }

Post Reply