bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

watchpocket
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:47 am
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by watchpocket »

khal wrote:I didn't see it before, but name_update doesn't need the rand number...

Code: Select all

namecoind name_update d/watchpocket '{"ip": ["166.84.62.124","166.84.62.252"], "map":{"": "166.84.62.124"}}'
Checking this on http://dot-bit.org/tools/domainCheck.php
by the way, brought a "Syntax invalid!"
Bitcoin: 1FRdmVXVpp9q9jgWZeiABzgwyxSBM4d6Um
Namecoin: NGEN5np3VvfVHSgbQnojem3U5sCEe5jgm7

khal
Site Admin
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 5:09 pm
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by khal »

We can't do magic things sadly...

There is 1 thing we can't skip :
- your need a web hosting that allows you to add .bit domains and to choose which folder it points to (like any other traditional domain)

It can be your usual web hosting if it allows that, or another one. You can then host data there or redirect to your .net site.


Edit : Paste only the json value in the textbox.
NamecoinID: id/khal
GPG : 9CC5B92E965D69A9
NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T

Register Namecoin domains with BTC
My bitcoin Identity - Send messages to bitcoin users
Charity Ad - Make a good deed without paying a cent

watchpocket
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:47 am
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by watchpocket »

OK, thanks loads -- that does check as valid syntax.
Bitcoin: 1FRdmVXVpp9q9jgWZeiABzgwyxSBM4d6Um
Namecoin: NGEN5np3VvfVHSgbQnojem3U5sCEe5jgm7

watchpocket
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:47 am
os: linux

Re: apache configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by watchpocket »

About making server changes to recognize the .bit zone, the admins at my ISP are actually pretty good about things and they may be willing to make a minor change or addition to their apache web server config file.

But I'd need to tell them exactly what to do.

So, when you say (Khal):

"'{"ip": ["166.84.62.124","166.84.62.252"], "map":{"": "166.84.62.124"}}'

This one requires you to configure apache only.

and:

You'll need to configure this right on your server

Would you (or anyone) be able to say exactly what change or addition is needed in the apache config, in order to recognize the .bit zone, so that I could convey this to a tech-admin at my ISP, and tell him exactly what to do?

I may be able to persuade them to make the change, if it doesn't upset anything and if it is trivial for them to do.

(Or, at least I can try.)

Thanks
Bitcoin: 1FRdmVXVpp9q9jgWZeiABzgwyxSBM4d6Um
Namecoin: NGEN5np3VvfVHSgbQnojem3U5sCEe5jgm7

khal
Site Admin
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 5:09 pm
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by khal »

They just have to do exactly the same thing they have done with your .net domain. Some web hosting provider will be compatible with .bit sites and some won't be. Those incompatible will need to do manual things to add a .bit domain (because their standard interface is not designed for that).

For apache, there are several possibilities.
In short : make a link between a directory and a hostname.

Here are 2 examples :

Code: Select all

<VirtualHost *:80>
        DocumentRoot /www/yourdomain.bit
        ServerName www.yourdomain.bit
</VirtualHost>
Read data from /var/www/yourdomain.bit or /var/www/yourdomain.com or /var/www/xxx.net depending on the domain used by the visitor :

Code: Select all

<VirtualHost *:80>
        UseCanonicalName    Off
        VirtualDocumentRoot /var/www/%0
</VirtualHost>
If you want bind to reply for your zone (if you use ns/dns records in namecoin. Using ip avoid you this step but apache must be configured for each subdomain...), add your .bit domain (like any other domain) to bind :

Code: Select all

zone "frozen.bit" { type master; file "/etc/bind/zones/frozen.bit"; allow-query { any; }; };
Then, put a normal bind zone in the file "/etc/bind/zones/frozen.bit".



ps : if they want to resolve all .bit domains on their dns servers, that's another problem :p
NamecoinID: id/khal
GPG : 9CC5B92E965D69A9
NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T

Register Namecoin domains with BTC
My bitcoin Identity - Send messages to bitcoin users
Charity Ad - Make a good deed without paying a cent

watchpocket
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:47 am
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by watchpocket »

Thank you for that explanation, Khal.

On an unrelated note (at least I think it's unrelated), I wonder why, after I did this:

Code: Select all

namecoind name_update d/watchpocket '{"ip": ["166.84.62.124","166.84.62.252"], "map":{"": "166.84.62.124"}}'
I now get "Value: (invalid)" when I do a
whois -h whois.namecoin.us watchpocket.bit :

Code: Select all

Domain:  watchpocket.bit
    TxID:    37a9c4117346d19c14a61c5f3d585d4810a1252dd2868206b6f4fcd1052777ab
    Expires: Sun, 11 Sep 2011 17:50:57 -0400

    Value:
             (invalid)

The Registry database contains ONLY .BIT domains and Registrars.
Is this also the result of not yet having made the necessary changes to my server's apache's config so that it will recognize the .bit zone?
Bitcoin: 1FRdmVXVpp9q9jgWZeiABzgwyxSBM4d6Um
Namecoin: NGEN5np3VvfVHSgbQnojem3U5sCEe5jgm7

khal
Site Admin
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 5:09 pm
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by khal »

Maybe the whois server doesn't recognize brackets (only the json data is required for that service), so this may be a bug (or bad data still cached). I'll contact the owner (lebish).
NamecoinID: id/khal
GPG : 9CC5B92E965D69A9
NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T

Register Namecoin domains with BTC
My bitcoin Identity - Send messages to bitcoin users
Charity Ad - Make a good deed without paying a cent

lebish
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 7:58 am
os: mac

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by lebish »

watchpocket wrote:I now get "Value: (invalid)" when I do a
whois -h whois.namecoin.us watchpocket.bit :

Code: Select all

Domain:  watchpocket.bit
    TxID:    37a9c4117346d19c14a61c5f3d585d4810a1252dd2868206b6f4fcd1052777ab
    Expires: Sun, 11 Sep 2011 17:50:57 -0400

    Value:
             (invalid)

The Registry database contains ONLY .BIT domains and Registrars.
Is this also the result of not yet having made the necessary changes to my server's apache's config so that it will recognize the .bit zone?
I'm seeing your registration like this:

Code: Select all

[
    {
        "name" : "d/watchpocket",
        "value" : "871dc82d1c84fe25",
        "txid" : "37a9c4117346d19c14a61c5f3d585d4810a1252dd2868206b6f4fcd1052777ab",
        "expires_in" : 11740
    }
]
Your value field isn't a json encoded string so it's getting rejected by the whois server right off the bat. Can anyone un/confirm this?
bitcoin://1N8v3K9JkNsMaffJZNzRmyUnwtuAxZv7Qa
namecoin://MwsunGebPhErL9fFPi3JLZqFZGJxfzV98b

watchpocket
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:47 am
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by watchpocket »

Now when I enter this command in namecoind:

Code: Select all

namecoind name_update d/watchpocket '{"ip": ["166.84.62.124","166.84.62.252"], "map":{"": "166.84.62.124"}}'
I get this:

Code: Select all

error: {"code":-1,"message":"could not sign name coin output"}
And I've never gotten this before when doing a name_update. Very frustrating. Anyone know what that's about?
Bitcoin: 1FRdmVXVpp9q9jgWZeiABzgwyxSBM4d6Um
Namecoin: NGEN5np3VvfVHSgbQnojem3U5sCEe5jgm7

khal
Site Admin
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 5:09 pm
os: linux

Re: bind9 configuration for sharing a zone with ICANN TLD

Post by khal »

You have transfered your domain, by using the third command line parameter of name_update, to an invalid address which has been converted to an empty string :
http://explorer.bit/tx/33171 (same thing for this guy : http://explorer.bit/tx/2668)

I guess your only solution is now to wait for the name to expire...


ps : i've commited a patch to my repository to avoid that...
NamecoinID: id/khal
GPG : 9CC5B92E965D69A9
NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T

Register Namecoin domains with BTC
My bitcoin Identity - Send messages to bitcoin users
Charity Ad - Make a good deed without paying a cent

Post Reply