OpenBazaar and namecoin

dionyziz

OpenBazaar and namecoin

Post by dionyziz »

Hello,

I'm an OpenBazaar developer working on our trust and identity system. OpenBazaar is a decentralized anonymous censorship-resistant peer-to-peer marketplace where people can buy, sell, and discover products freely, with zero trading fees, and trade securely using bitcoin. Our trust and identity system is the portion that allows users to trust each other while remaining pseudonymous. We are planning to employ various mechanisms to achieve trust on the network, including reputation pledges via proof-of-burn, webs-of-trust, trust-as-risk, 2-of-3 multisig with arbiters and other means.

I wanted to let the namecoin community know that we'll be using namecoin in our project as part of our trust system and explain the structure we'll be making use of, briefly. Namecoin can serve to resolve Zooko's triangle, and we want to use it in this manner. OpenBazaar already addresses two of the three of Zooko's triangle vertices: decentralization and security. Our decentralization is based on a kademlia-style DHT, and our security is based on our internal node identifiers, GUIDs, which correspond directly to elliptic curve public keys.

The plan is to allow users to have a user-friendly name associated with their market which is displayed when their market is visited and other users can use to visit their stores. We will utilize the id/ namecoin namespace for this. We will be adding an 'openbazaar' key to the existing JSON, whose value is going to be the GUID of the node in question. id/dionyziz serves as an example.