Newbie looking to get involved

sparring.darkman

Newbie looking to get involved

Post by sparring.darkman »

Hi,

I'm new to namecoin and I'd like to get involved. I do have a few questions though.

In the current set up, the number of namecoins (and bitcoins) will eventually max out, correct? I was wondering what the economic implications of this would be. As a currency, it seems like namecoin should encourage spending and transactions. Therefore it seems like the value of namecoins should slowly depreciate over time (inflation). With the current setup, it seems feasible that you could be in a situation where more and more people use namecoins, but the supply is constant. With increased demand, the value of namecoins would go up, encouraging people to simply hold onto their namecoins. This is bad because now people are avoiding spending and transactions. At this point, the value of namecoins may start to drop so now people would start spending them again. Now the cycle could start over again and the value could go up again, however this volatile value of a currency seems bad for creating a stable market.

Does namecoin allow the network to maintain multiple tables? For instance, it seems like a good idea to have separate tables for dns, identity, etc. Then each table can have an independent set of key value pairs, but have their own restrictions. For instance, dns could restrict keys to be of the (regex) form "[a-z0-9]+\.bit". The value would be as defined by the current specification. The identity table could be a mapping of identities (strings) to sets of public keys. Then the public keys could be used to authenticate, encrypt, or digitally sign in regards to that identity.

One more thing. Have you considered adding a "static" field to the dns specification? The static subdomain could be one which tells browsers not to send cookies, etc. This could be an optimization for delivering static files.

Is there anyway I can help? I can program.

Thanks,

SD